Deciding To See More Of My Own Backyard; Uluru


I am the first to admit that as an Australian, I have seen more of the countries, natural phenomenons and incredible landmarks and must see’s that are oceans away from Australia than I have of my own backyard and this, until recently, sat okay with me.
But then I thought about it…

Why do I happily spend loads of money (or in some cases little money) to venture over oceans to completely new continents, when some of the most beautiful natural phenomenons or amazing landmarks can be found right here in Australia?

After being handed an extra long weekend (by my amazing boss, thank you!) over the ANZAC weekend, I decided approximately 4 weeks beforehand that I was going to make the most of this long weekend. I was tossing up between venturing over the ditch to neighbouring New Zealand for a quick trip, or possibly flying down to Tasmania (which can feel like a new country, being its own little island state of Australia) or visiting Uluru, otherwise known as Ayers Rock, which is a national icon that I had not yet seen.

I decided that Uluru was the easiest for me to pull together in a short time and celebrating one of the most important days on Australia’s calendar in the middle of no where sounded like everything was going to fall into place as it should be.

And so it was decided, but this trip ended up being a whole new experience for me not just because I was visiting more of Australia and a completely new state and location, but because this was the first time I would be travelling anywhere on my own. And let me tell you, I really didn’t think I’d enjoy solo travel as much as I did, but that’s a whole new blog post to keep your eye out for!

I have a chain of blog posts in the works about my Uluru trip that I can’t wait to share with you all, but for now, here are a few of my favourite snaps from my trip.

IMG_1922

The first sighting of what we had come to see! 2016. Photo Credit: K.Allan

IMG_2053

Uluru at sunset is just as magical as you’d imagine. 2016. Photo Credit: K.Allan

IMG_2107

Bruce Munro’s Field Of Light art exhibition. 2016. Photo Credit: K.Allan

IMG_2214

King’s Canyon. 2016. Photo Credit: K.Allan

IMG_2383

Uluru at sunrise on ANZAC Day was incredible. 2016. Photo Credit: K.Allan

IMG_2403

Kata Tjuta aka The Olga’s. 2016. Photo Credit: K.Allan

IMG_2568

Uluru sunset plus wine, can’t go wrong! 2016. Photo Credit: K.Allan

IMG_2660

Another Uluru sunrise + check Coobah the Camel. 2016. Photo Credit: K.Allan

Stay tuned for my top things to do at Uluru post, my first time travelling solo post and Voyages Desert Gardens hotel review!

All posts are by Global Whispers and are entirely my own opinions, views and experiences.

Leave me your thoughts

