My Bucket List Item #38… ✓


I’m not sure how many of you reading this will be familiar with the hilarious comedy duo Hamish and Andy (if you’re not, you really need to check out their TV show, radio show and website!) but I thank them for inspiring this particular bucket list item. After watching an episode of Hamish and Andy’s Gap Year South America and laughing my head off at them trekking up an active volcano in Guatemala to cook a pre-made foil lasagne in some lava I decided I wanted to do something similar.

IMG_6282

So during my most recent holiday to Hawaii I decided to tick of my Bucket List item #38… Step foot on an active volcano:-

Whilst planning and researching activities to do in Hawaii, I discovered that on the Big Island (Hawai’i) there is the currently active Kilauea volcano. So the day after we arrived we woke up very early, headed back to the airport and flew to Big Island for a day trip and tour we had organised with Robert’s Shuttle Bus.

Actually arriving to the volcano was about halfway through the day as there is plenty of other things to see and do on the island, but the volcano was the part I was most excited for.

Unfortunately, it was overcast, cold and a little rainy when we arrived at Kilauea Overlook but nonetheless it was still an active volcano. We weren’t able to see any lava (like you’re probably imagining) or to get anywhere near close enough to feel the heat, but the steam rising from the crater was enough to assure you that this was definitely an active volcano.

IMG_4834

Kilauea volcano crater; Big Island. 2015. Photo Credit: A.Barton

The Jaggar Museum is located near the crater with loads of information about the volcano, the last time it erupted and about volcanoes in general which is incredibly interesting.

After visiting the crater we also ventured down to the Thurston Lava Tube which is a tunnel formed by lava when the volcano erupted many years ago. It’s incredibly surreal to walk through a tunnel that you know has literally been burned into creation and although it was rainy, wet and dark it was still an awesome experience.

IMG_7385

Thurston Lava Tube; Big Island. 2015. Photo Credit: A.Barton

Overall visiting and stepping foot onto an active volcano and witnessing previous destruction this particular volcano has had in the past was an incredible experience. I think I may need to add sand boarding down an active volcano to my list after seeing some awesome YouTube videos!

So there is another Bucket List item ticked off the list… I’ve ticked off a couple more items more recently so stay tuned as I catch you all up to date on how I’ve been going!

I’d love to know if you guys have any suggestions to add to my ever-growing bucket list (I’ve come up with over 50 out of 101 spots so far!) and what you guys are ticking off your own lists! Comment below and let me know! 🙂

All posts are by Global Whispers and are entirely my own opinions, views and experiences.

Leave me your thoughts

