My Week In The Big Apple, New York!


9 months ago I was fortunate enough to be able to not only spend 6 days in New York City, but also was there to celebrate New Years Eve 2014, a huge bucket list moment ticked off the list! I often post about the sites and cool things to see and do in the cities I’ve visited, although sometimes I haven’t physically been myself to all on the list (I try incredibly hard to see as much as I can whilst travelling and only recommend places I’m 100% sure you should visit) so I decided that I’d start writing about exactly how I spend my time in these cities for you guys. I think this will help my wonderful readers see just how much they can fit into a day, what I’ve seen and experienced, maybe even have a giggle and most importantly inspire you guys to visit, whether the same way as I do or your own way!

New York City. 2014. Photo Credit: A.Barton

New York City. 2014. Photo Credit: A.Barton

Day 1 – Tuesday 31st December 2013 – Boston to New York City & NYE Times Square

This day consisted of a 5 hour train trip from South Station, Boston to Penn Station, New York as a group we decided that at this time of year, the weather was too unpredictable to fly and potentially miss out on our New Years Eve plans. I still remember our excitement of catching our first glimpses of the big apple from the train windows. I was finally here! Admittedly, it wasn’t our greatest decision to arrive into our hotel, Millennium on Broadway, in Times Square on New Years Eve… Roads are blocked off, police are everywhere, traffic is even more horrendous than usual and its super cold. Luckily, a wonderful bellman from our hotel was waiting at the barricade of our street to allow us in to check in. I love this hotel and we were fortunate enough to have an amazing view of the ball as we got ready for the nights festivities. A short walk to our party choice, Tonic Bar Times Square and the night began, the countdown, the confetti, the neon lights. New Years Eve in New York, I will never forget!

New Years Eve. 2013. Photo Credit: A.Pearce

New Years Eve. 2013. Photo Credit: A.Pearce

Day 2 – Wednesday 1st January 2014 – Statue of Liberty 

I’ll admit, not our cleverest decision to do this on New Years Day after a night of solid partying and celebrating the new year. After the mission of waking up and getting ready we got a cab and made our way to the check in area for our Statue of Liberty tour at Battery Park. It was however, incredibly difficult to find  and we almost missed our departure time purely because we couldn’t see where we had to go. Anyways, the ferry trip over to Staten Island was, I’ll say… nauseous (thanks to our sleep deprivation and hangovers) but we made it. First stop, food to hopefully make us feel better. We sat outside and ate and by this point were freezing cold so decided to go in the gift shop to warm up… along with hundreds of other people… again, another not so clever choice (I’ve never wanted to pull a fire emergency trigger so much just so people would get out). But once we actually started looking around and getting photos the hangover started to deteriorate. We had pre booked our tickets and so we had access to the Pedestal of the statue which had an incredible view and I highly recommend! She’s one hell of a Statue and an amazing American icon.

Statue of Liberty. 2014. Photo Credit: A.Pointer

Statue of Liberty. 2014. Photo Credit: A.Pointer

Day 3 – Thursday 2nd January 2014 – Top of The Rock, 9/11 Memorial & Empire State Building, M&M World 

Up and early in the morning to travel a block away in the ridiculous cold (thanks random freak of nature, Polar Vortex) to purchase our 2 day New York Pass. Ashley opted out of this day for shopping so Angela, Arielle and myself headed to the Rockefeller Centre to grab break, looks around and most importantly check out Top Of the Rock. With only 50% visibility the view was worth it. I personally found it an awesome experience to see Central Park from above in the concrete jungle of New York. We then ventured to the 9/11 memorial and explored the incredibly moving museum and ground zero itself. By midday we were lining up to go inside the memorial and it was the coldest I have ever felt in my life (again, thanks Polar Vortex). Unfortunately, it really dampened our experience as we were literally in and out of the memorial in 10 minutes purely because it was so cold, so I definitely need to go back and pay my respects to all those who lost their lives. After a quick pit stop to the hotel, we made our way to the Empire State Building in the evening and 3 of us became 4 again. We chose to go to both the 86th floor and 102nd floor and the view of New York City at night is breathtaking to say the least. We finished our night off at dinner and then a stop at M&M World for some awesome, delicious and personalised M&M’s to take home, Yum!

Top Of The Rock. 2014. Photo Credit: K.Allan

Top Of The Rock. 2014. Photo Credit: K.Allan

9/11 Tribute Memorial. 2014. Photo Credit: K.Allan

9/11 Tribute Memorial. 2014. Photo Credit: K.Allan

New York City from the Empire State Building. 2014. Photo Credit: K.Allan

New York City from the Empire State Building. 2014. Photo Credit: K.Allan

Day 4 – Friday 3rd January 2014 – American Museum of Natural History & Madame Tussauds 

This is the part of our trip when 4 becomes 3 for the rest of the time with Ashley going home today. Today we catch the New York subway to the American Museum of Natural History and explore this incredible museum. Thanks to our New York Pass we gain entry quickly and are completely blown away by the numerous exhibits featured throughout, especially the marine, space and dinosaur exhibits. Then we ventured to the famous Madame Tussaud’s Wax Museum to get our dose of celeb spotting, in a different form. I got to see my favourite, Taylor Swift and kicked up my heels with President Obama, a must visit!

Natural Hitory Museum. 2014. Photo Credit: A.Barton

Natural Hitory Museum. 2014. Photo Credit: A.Barton

Day 5 – Saturday 4th January 2014 – Central Park & NBA game in Brooklyn

This morning was one of my most difficult mornings as I woke up incredibly sick with the flu but after a pep talk from my friends, a good dose of cold and flu medicine and multiple layers of clothing we were off to a cute diner for breakfast and then toured Central Park from a pedicab which was really fun. Our driver was really friendly and knowledgeable. It had recently snowed so seeing the park covered in white was a sight I’ll never forget. We also visited the Donald Trump Ice Skating rink where the girls Ice Skated while I (sickly) watched on. After freshening up back at the hotel we caught the train to the Barclay’s Centre in Brooklyn, home to the Brooklyn Nets NBA team where we were seeing Brooklyn Nets VS Cleveland Cavaliers. The game was so much fun, it’s an atmosphere I will never forget and the crowd is like nothing I’ve ever experienced. I highly recommend going to a game even if you aren’t a loyal follower purely for the entertainment and atmosphere, oh and the fact the home team won was an even crazier vibe!

Central Park. 2014. Photo Credit: A.Barton

Central Park. 2014. Photo Credit: A.Barton

Barclay's Center NBA game. 2014. Photo Credit: A.Barton

Barclay’s Center NBA game. 2014. Photo Credit: A.Barton

Day 6 – Sunday 5th January 2014 – Shopping & Grand Central Terminal

Our final day in New York we used our time to shop around in Times Square, pack our luggage and visited Grand Central Terminal (or Station) to buy a cupcake from the famous Magnolia Bakery, delicious! Grand Central Station is a beautiful building and is a must visit when in New York purely for the architecture and history. Our final evening in New York also saw us stop at Momofuku Milk Bar to purchase ‘Crack Pie’ a specialty caramel dessert.

Grand Central Station. 2014. Photo Credit: K.Allan

Grand Central Station. 2014. Photo Credit: K.Allan

So there you have it, my week in New York City all summed up into a post. New York definitely ranks highly on my favourite’s list and with much more to see and do, New York should not be missed!

All posts are by Global Whispers and are entirely my own opinions, views and experiences. 

Leave me your thoughts

