7 Cheaper Buys In The USA


Living in Australia does not come cheaply and while I am thankful everyday to be Australian it’s hard not to get a bit cranky when comparing prices for essential items that I buy (well at least essential for me!) to places overseas, especially the United States. I didn’t realise exactly how much cheaper in comparison items were until I witnessed it for myself on my first visit to the USA. 6 months after that trip and stocking up on what I could before heading home, I was back again and purchasing more and more for myself and my friends when I got home.

Makeup Purchases. 2014. Photo Credit: K.Allan

Makeup Purchases. 2014. Photo Credit: K.Allan

Please note that this list is for items I found to be cheaper in the USA compared to Australia, so these may not all apply to you all living elsewhere abroad (although I’m sure you’ll still find some of these as bargains!).

So I’ve narrowed down my top 7 cheaper buys in the USA:-

  1. Makeup

    Personally, I wear mostly MAC makeup and occasionally NARS, Sephora and Rimmell, which all in Australia are very expensive (*sigh) so the 2 times I have visited the USA I’ve gone absolutely crazy and stocked up on my favourite makeup items. Ladies, you won’t be disappointed and you can never have too much! The photo below doesn’t even show half of what I purchased during my last trip to the USA.

  2. Alcohol

    I’m not just writing this here because if the incredibly cheap duty-free prices! Alcohol in America is (in an Aussie’s opinion) ridiculously cheap! Even drinks whilst out at bars and nightclubs are much more reasonable than back home and usually free poured and stronger as well. Purchasing your customs limit in alcohol whilst in the states will save you loads of money once you’re back home.

  3. Designer Brands

    If you’re into purchasing expensive designer pieces of clothing, jewellery, bags, makeup or shoes, the USA is one of the best countries to purchase these items compared to Australia. The mark-up is far less in the states and often designer brands are found inside department stores such as Macy’s and Nordstrom.

    Michael Kors Handbag (I'm obsessed!). 2014. Photo Credit: K.Allan

    Michael Kors Handbag (I’m obsessed!). 2014. Photo Credit: K.Allan

  4. Clothing

    Want a new pair of jeans? A new winter coats perhaps? Or even just a few new tops to wear around while you’re on holidays? Clothes shopping in the USA is a dream, with so many options, brands and most importantly reasonable and cheap pricing. Check out places like H&M, GAP, Express and even smaller boutique stores to score some awesome clothes without breaking the bank!

  5. Fragrance

    One of my favourite items to purchase, especially in the USA, perfume and cologne are ridiculously cheaper compared to Australia. I found so many fragrances that I loved that I wanted to (and probably could have afforded to) purchase them all. I’ve narrowed it down to these fragrances from my last 2 trips but found generally I can purchase the largest sized bottles for less than the price of the smaller bottles in Australia. Go figure?

    Marc Jacobs Dot, Marc Jacobs Daisy Dream, Marc Jacobs Daisy, Dolce & Gabbana Dolce. 2014. Photo Credit: K.Allan

    Marc Jacobs Dot, Marc Jacobs Daisy Dream, Marc Jacobs Daisy, Dolce & Gabbana Dolce. 2014. Photo Credit: K.Allan

  6. Jewellery

    Although admittedly not ridiculously cheaper, saving money is saving money right? Designer jewellery I have found to be cheaper in the USA compared to Australia and some countries in Europe. Investing in good quality jewellery for me is a wise decision and I wear all of my pieces often. Money well spent in my opinion, thanks USA!

    Some of my jewellery purchases; Michael Kors, Tiffany and Co & Swarovski. 2014. Photo Credit: K.Allan

    Some of my jewellery purchases; Michael Kors, Tiffany and Co & Swarovski. 2014. Photo Credit: K.Allan

  7. Souvenirs

    Last but not least something major it of us all purchase no matter where we visit, souvenirs! I’ve found it incredibly affordable and easy to purchase novelty, cultural and specific souvenirs to take home for myself or family and friends. Even Disneyland prices in my opinion weren’t as expensive and blown out as I was expecting. So stock up on souvenirs, they’re great when you accidentally forgot to get someone a Christmas present or to reminisce on your time in the USA.

    Some of my USA souvenirs from my 2 adventures. 2014. Photo Credit: K.Allan

    Some of my USA souvenirs from my 2 adventures. 2014. Photo Credit: K.Allan

Like you guys needed a reason to spend up a storm whilst visiting the USA though, right? 😉

All posts are by Global Whispers and are entirely my own opinions, views and experiences.

Leave me your thoughts

